Skip Navigation
The City of Bastrop is governed by a Council-Manager form of government in which the Council establishes City policy through ordinances and resolutions; and the City Manager carries out City policy and is responsible for City operations. The Bastrop City Council consists of the Mayor and five Council members. The Mayor and Council are elected at-large, which means they represent the entire City and that all registered voters may vote for all six places. Above picture from top left to right, Mayor Pro Tem John Kirkland, Member Jimmy Crouch, Member Kevin Plunkett. Bottom left to right, Member Cynthia Meyer, Mayor Lyle Nelson, Member Cheryl Lee.
City Council Meetings
Meets: 2nd & 4th Tuesday of each month
6:30 pm
Location: Council Chambers - City Hall
  1311 Chestnut Street
Bastrop, Texas 78602
  • Proclamation

    A proclamation is a formal declaration by the Mayor in honor of a person, group or event. Proclamations will not be issued for business groundbreaking, ribbon-cutting, or grand-opening events. Sample wording should be provided. City staff reserve the right to shorten lengthy requests. One formal presentation copy will be provided at no charge. Proclamations should be picked up at City of Bastrop, City Hall, 1311 Chestnut Street, unless other arrangements have been made. If you would like the proclamation presented by the Mayor at an event, please indicate this with your request, you will be contacted for possible scheduling.


    Proclamations include:


    Significant birthdays (starting at 90th birthdays and the years thereafter) of Bastrop residents.
    Significant pastor and church anniversaries (20 years, 25 years etc.) in Bastrop.
    Organizations and/or individuals who have made a significant contribution to society.
    Required Information: When submitting, please attach a copy or sample text of the occasion you are wishing to have recognized, if available. Proclamations are issued at the discretion of the Mayor.

    All requests must be submitted no later than ten business days prior to the event.

    All requests should be made through email to Ann Franklin, City Secretary:

    Contact Ann Franklin, City Secretary at 512-332-8811 with any questions related to proclamations.


    All proclamation requests are subject to final approval by the Mayor. 

Council Members:
Name & Place Contact Information Term  Expires
Lyle Nelson
(512) 718-5513
 1st Term Expires May 2026

Cheryl Lee

(512) 718-5589

1st Term Expires May 2025

Cynthia Meyer

Place 2

(512) 718-9300

2nd Term Expires May 2027

Kevin Plunkett
Place 3

(512) 718-5421
2nd Term Expires May 2026
Kerry Fossler
Place 4

(512) 718-6601

1st Term Expires May 2027

John Kirkland
Place 5

Mayor Pro-Tem

(512) 718-5102
1st Term Expires May 2025

The Mission of the City of Bastrop is to continuously strive to provide innovative and proactive services that enhance our authentic way of life to achieve our vision.