MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING City of Bastrop Ethics Commission

Friday, October 8, 2021

Pursuant to the Texas Government Code, Chapter 551, the City of Bastrop Ethics Commission met in a Special Meeting on Friday, October 8, 2021 at 12:00 p.m. at the Bastrop City Hall, 1311 Chestnut Street, Bastrop Texas. Commissioners present: Bernie Jackson, Chairman Judge Duggan, Barbara Caldwell, and Bob Long. City Staff present: Martha S. Dickie, Ethan Ranis, and Deputy City Secretary Victoria Psencik.

CALL TO ORDER

At 12:00 p.m. Commissioner Duggan called the meeting to order with a quorum present. Commissioner Wuthipong Tantaksinanukij was absent.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

2A. Approval of Meeting Minutes from July 26, 2021.
A motion was made by Commissioner Jackson to approve the minutes from the July 26, 2021, meeting, seconded by Commissioner Long, motion was approved on a 4-0 vote.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Ethics Commission met at 12:03 p.m. in a closed/executive session pursuant to the Texas Government Code, Chapter 551, et seq, to discuss the following:

- 3A. Ethics Commission shall convene into closed executive session pursuant to Texas Government Code:
 - Section 551.071, to seek the advice of legal counsel regarding the civil lawsuit Cause Number 1885-335; Cameron Cox v. City of Bastrop, Connie Schroeder, Bernie Jackson, Barbara Caldwell, Corporal Wuthipong Tantaksinanukij, Bob Long, Judge Chris Duggan, Ann Franklin.

Chairman Duggan recessed the Executive Session at 12:35 p.m.

TAKE ANY NECESSARY OR APPROPRIATE ACTION ON MATTERS POSTED FOR CONSIDERATION IN CLOSED/EXECUTIVE SESSION

- 4A. Ethics Commission shall convene into closed executive session pursuant to Texas Government Code:
 - Section 551.071, to seek the advice of legal counsel regarding the civil lawsuit Cause Number 1885-335; Cameron Cox v. City of Bastrop, Connie Schroeder, Bernie Jackson, Barbara Caldwell, Corporal Wuthipong Tantaksinanukij, Bob Long, Judge Chris Duggan, Ann Franklin.

No action taken.

Adjourned at 12:36 p.m. without objection.

Judge Chris Duggan, Chair

2

Victoria Psencik, Deputy City Secretary